Best British Horror

 

We at Alchemy Academy are delighted that editor Johnny Mains has selected three stories from The Alchemy Press Book of Horrors for next year’s Best British Horror. Here’s the full line up:

CAVE VENUS ET STELLA – Anna Vaught
WORMCASTS – Thana Niveau
THEY TELL ME – Carly Holmes
DISAGREEABLY HITCHED – Gary Fry
PACK YOUR COAT – Aliya Whiteley
VOICES IN THE NIGHT – Lisa Tuttle
THE FULLNESS OF HER BELLY – Cate Gardner
MAW – Priya Sharma
TEUFELSBERG – Madhvi Ramani
THE OTHER TIGER – Helen Marshall
SENTINEL – Catriona Ward
THE WORM – Samantha Lee
THE ADJOINING ROOM – AK Benedict
THE GOLDEN HOUR – Rosanne Rabinowitz
THE PERFECT DAY TO BE AT SEA – Kayleigh Marie Edwards
THE HARDER IT GETS THE SOFTER WE SING – Steven Dines
THE DEMON L – Carly Holmes
BY SEVERN’S FLOOD – Jane Jakeman
FISH HOOKS – Kit Power
OLD TRASH – Jenn Ashworth
BOBBO – Robert Shearman

We’ve highlighted the stories from Horrors.

The Alchemy Press Book of Horrors is available in print form and for a variety of eBook platforms. And while you wait for the next volume of Best British Horror we suggest you read this year’s book (published by the excellent Newcon Press). The cover for BBH 2018 is by the extremely talented  Daniele Serra.

 

 

 

Advertisements

Horrors — mini review

Belated Hallowe’en wishes from The Alchemy Press. Hope things went with a satisfying bump last night.

John Llewellyn Probert  purchased a copy of The Alchemy Press Book of Horrors, read it, and says this on his Facebook page:

I love horror anthologies and FantasyCon has provided me with a delicious surfeit of them. First up is this, a truly impressive achievement by Peter Coleborn and Jan Edwards. I’m not going to cite individual stories, suffice to say there’s not a bad one in here, and a few are amongst the best horror stories I’ve read in ages. Full marks for that lovely cover as well, which is reminiscent of the old 1950s Four Square horror anthologies. A terrific book, highly recommended, and I would definitely buy a volume 2. Well done, guys.

Horrors is now available via Amazon and other online booksellers. A Kindle version will be available soon, followed by other eBook formats

 

 

Pulp Heroes soon to go OOP

Pulp Heroes 144KB

The Alchemy Press Book of Pulp Heroes, edited by Mike Chinn, is soon to be out of print. If you haven’t bagged yourself a copy now is the time to do so. You never know, used copies may be worth £££ or $$$ in future days.

Stories in the tradition of The Shadow, The Bat, Doc Savage, The Spider; Dashiell Hammett’s Continental Detective Agency; Dusty Ayers & His Battle Birds; Sheena and K-Zar. Hard-boiled detectives, sinister vigilantes, bizarre villains: the staples of the Pulp tradition. Two-fisted heroes – and heroines – fighting for right and justice in the midnight city, foetid jungles or exotic, far-flung lands. Deranged villains for whom the world is never enough.

Pulp Heroes is available from Amazon and other online bookshops.

 

Something Remains reviewed

Something Remains A002

There is a fabulous review of Something Remains over on the Risingshadow website:

If you are looking for beautifully written literary strange fiction and weird fiction, Something Remains is what you have been looking for. It contains excellent and impressive stories that surprise, thrill and shock readers in equal measure. Something Remains is something different for those who want to read quality fiction, so please, take a look at it and let yourself be charmed by uncanny stories. Highly recommended!

Visit the website to read the full review and then pop over to Amazon (or another online bookstore) to get a copy of the book. You’ll love it.

Something Remains blogged

Untitled-30c

Allen Ashley, one of the esteemed contributors to Something Remains has written of his story “Natural History” in the book.

Joel gave us some of the finest short fiction you could ever hope to read. And now he has given me this story “Natural History” which would never have existed without his notes, his inspiration. The same is true for the other pieces collected in “Something Remains”: meticulously, even tenderly, written by those who loved and admired him.

Read the full essay on Allen’s website, here.

Something Remains is available as a paperback or eBook for the Kindle via Amazon and, probably, other online dealers.

The book is officially launched at FantasyCon later this month.

 

 

Real-time reviews

Des Lewis runs a blog in which be publishes “real-time” reviews — reviews of books as he reads them, usually posting comments on a daily basis. Des begins the review of Something Remains today. The first story he reviews is that by Tim Lebbon. Des says:

This is a frightening portrait of alienation even from a friend, with a scene in a dance club that will stay with you.

You can follow the updates and further reviews in the comments section of Des Lewis’ Gestalt Real-Time Reviews website.

 

 

Official book launch

front cover 003b   Something Remains A002

This September, as part of the FantasyCon 2016  activities — on the 24th to be precise — Alchemy Press launches two new titles:

Come along at noon on Saturday to help launch these titles . There will be wine!