Pulp Heroes soon to go OOP

Pulp Heroes 144KB

The Alchemy Press Book of Pulp Heroes, edited by Mike Chinn, is soon to be out of print. If you haven’t bagged yourself a copy now is the time to do so. You never know, used copies may be worth £££ or $$$ in future days.

Stories in the tradition of The Shadow, The Bat, Doc Savage, The Spider; Dashiell Hammett’s Continental Detective Agency; Dusty Ayers & His Battle Birds; Sheena and K-Zar. Hard-boiled detectives, sinister vigilantes, bizarre villains: the staples of the Pulp tradition. Two-fisted heroes – and heroines – fighting for right and justice in the midnight city, foetid jungles or exotic, far-flung lands. Deranged villains for whom the world is never enough.

Pulp Heroes is available from Amazon and other online bookshops.

 

Something Remains reviewed

Something Remains A002

There is a fabulous review of Something Remains over on the Risingshadow website:

If you are looking for beautifully written literary strange fiction and weird fiction, Something Remains is what you have been looking for. It contains excellent and impressive stories that surprise, thrill and shock readers in equal measure. Something Remains is something different for those who want to read quality fiction, so please, take a look at it and let yourself be charmed by uncanny stories. Highly recommended!

Visit the website to read the full review and then pop over to Amazon (or another online bookstore) to get a copy of the book. You’ll love it.

Something Remains blogged

Untitled-30c

Allen Ashley, one of the esteemed contributors to Something Remains has written of his story “Natural History” in the book.

Joel gave us some of the finest short fiction you could ever hope to read. And now he has given me this story “Natural History” which would never have existed without his notes, his inspiration. The same is true for the other pieces collected in “Something Remains”: meticulously, even tenderly, written by those who loved and admired him.

Read the full essay on Allen’s website, here.

Something Remains is available as a paperback or eBook for the Kindle via Amazon and, probably, other online dealers.

The book is officially launched at FantasyCon later this month.

 

 

Real-time reviews

Des Lewis runs a blog in which be publishes “real-time” reviews — reviews of books as he reads them, usually posting comments on a daily basis. Des begins the review of Something Remains today. The first story he reviews is that by Tim Lebbon. Des says:

This is a frightening portrait of alienation even from a friend, with a scene in a dance club that will stay with you.

You can follow the updates and further reviews in the comments section of Des Lewis’ Gestalt Real-Time Reviews website.

 

 

Official book launch

front cover 003b   Something Remains A002

This September, as part of the FantasyCon 2016  activities — on the 24th to be precise — Alchemy Press launches two new titles:

Come along at noon on Saturday to help launch these titles . There will be wine!

 

Something Remains blogged

Something Remains A002

Two contributors to Something Remains — John Grant and Rosanne Rabinowitz — have posted blogs about their involvement in the project. John says:

The hugely talented writer Joel Lane, best known for his dark fantasy, died far too young in 2013. He left behind him scattered notes for a myriad of stories that he’d never gotten around to writing, and it occurred to Pauline Dungate that a suitable memorial to him might be a charity anthology in which other writers used Joel’s notes as the basis for new, preferably Joel-esque stories. I was highly honored when The Alchemy Press’s Peter Coleborn asked me to be a contributor to the anthology, and even more so when my story was accepted.

And Rosanne comments:

This unique and moving collaboration differs from any book I’ve contributed to in the past. When Joel Lane died in 2013 he left many handwritten fragments of writing behind. Some were sketches, others closer to complete stories. Peter Coleborn and Pauline E Dungate teamed up to edit an anthology based on these fragments. Various friends and associates of Joel’s selected pieces that sparked their imaginations. Out of this emerged a collection of stories, poems and reflections on Joel’s poetry and critical work.

Read the full blogs on their respective websites: John Grant and Rosanne Rabinowitz.

Something Remains will be launched at FantasyCon by the Sea this September. Many contributors will be on hand to sign the book. The book will also be available from Amazon and the usual suppliers.

 

 

Jessica Salmonson GOH at Diversicon

Publication6b

Jessica Amanda Salmonson — whose The Complete Weird Epistles of Penelope Pettiweather, Ghost Hunter — is Guest of Honour at Diversicon 24, which takes place on 29-31 July at the Best Western Hotel, St Paul, Minnesota — in other words, very soon!

The Complete Weird Epistles of Penelope Pettiweather, Ghost Hunter: fourteen stories — or epistles, rather — detailing Penelope’s quest to understand the nature of ghosts. Full of the rich history and landscape of Salmonson’s northwest USA, these quiet tales will appeal to the fan of the traditional ghost story.

Available from Amazon and many other online book sellers.