Hekla’s Children

Alchemy Press contributor James Brogden’s new novel Hekla’s Children has hit the bookshelves. It is a truly remarkable novel — you can read my review of it on the Piper at the Gates of Fantasy blog.

To celebrate the publication of the novel we are offering twelve copies of James’ short story collection Evocations (published by The Alchemy Press) free to the first six people who email by midnight today (Friday) and to another six who email us by midnight tomorrow (Saturday)  — UK time — and please use this contact form with the subject EVOCATIONS. Remember to specify if you want  MOBI or EPUB format.

 

 

 

Pulp Heroes soon to go OOP

Pulp Heroes 144KB

The Alchemy Press Book of Pulp Heroes, edited by Mike Chinn, is soon to be out of print. If you haven’t bagged yourself a copy now is the time to do so. You never know, used copies may be worth £££ or $$$ in future days.

Stories in the tradition of The Shadow, The Bat, Doc Savage, The Spider; Dashiell Hammett’s Continental Detective Agency; Dusty Ayers & His Battle Birds; Sheena and K-Zar. Hard-boiled detectives, sinister vigilantes, bizarre villains: the staples of the Pulp tradition. Two-fisted heroes – and heroines – fighting for right and justice in the midnight city, foetid jungles or exotic, far-flung lands. Deranged villains for whom the world is never enough.

Pulp Heroes is available from Amazon and other online bookshops.

 

Something Remains reviewed

As mentioned previously, Des Lewis is writing real-time reviews of Something Remains, He began these reviews here and now continues them here. You need to scroll to the comments section of both blog to read Des’ comments on each story.

 

Going for a song…

Some of The Alchemy Press’s limited edition hardcovers are going for a song via Amazon. Okay, not a song, as such … but we are selling brand new copies at a heavy discount. Now is a good time to buy the book you’ve been intending to read!

Rumours 250KB  WTBAB 003

SATM 007  NNI Full Jacket6

Don’t forget, these are all limited, signed hardcovers. And a warning: some of these books are in short supply so order them soon.

 

 

 

Arthur C. Clarke Award

ChildrenofTime   front cover 003b

The 30th Arthur C. Clarke Award for science fiction literature was awarded to Children of Time by Adrian Tchaikovsky (published by Tor), recently announced. The Clarke Award is considered to be the UK’s top prize for science fiction. Many congratulations go to Adrian.

And if you didn’t know, or you’ve forgotten, Adrian’s co-written anthology (with Adam Gauntlett and Keris McDonald), The Private Life of Elder Things is now available from The Alchemy Press.

 

Rumours — price reduction

Rumours 250KB

We’re lowering the price of Rumours of the Marvellous, the marvellous collection from Peter Atkins. Short-listed for the British Fantasy Award in 2012.

Rumours of the Marvellous is a superb collection of short stories by Peter Atkins that fall in the borderland between SF, fantasy, horror and the supernatural.” — David V Barrett, Fortean Times, November 2012 issue.

Rumours is a beautifully produced book … and will no doubt reach out to the collector demographic, but for those of us who worship content … its core appeal lies in the author’s undoubted ability to tell a story and to tell it well.” – Peter Tennant, Black Static 30

You can buy it now via Amazon for just £10 plus p&p.

We haven’t had a chance to change the PayPal tags yet so if you wish to buy directly from us send a message and we’ll in turn send a PayPal invoice.

 

Elder Things

perf5.250x8.000.indd

Coming your way this September: The Private Life of Elder Things by Adrian Tchaikovsky, Adam Gauntlett and Keris McDonald is launched at FantasyCon 2016.

Cover image by Christopher Shy

From the wastes of the sea to the shadows of our own cities, we are not alone. But what happens where the human world touches the domain of races ancient and alien?

Museum curators, surveyors, police officers, archaeologists, mathematicians; from derelict buildings to country houses to the London Underground, another world is just a breath away, around the corner, watching and waiting for you to step into its power.

The Private Life of Elder Things is a collection of new Lovecraftian fiction about confronting, discovering and living alongside the creatures of the Mythos.

  • A terrible secret beneath Paddington Station that is about to turn the Circle line into a Shoggoth trap
  • An old archaeologist haunted all her life by a death she caused, and the shadowy creature she invoked to do it.
  • A string of terrible deaths associated with lurid graffiti of a hound
  • A lost mariner in a strange Sargasso where the ships are picked clean of humans by strange slave-takers.
  • A new “legal high” from a machine that opens the mind to another world, and makes users visible to those creatures
  • A visitor to a country house charged with finding its lost rooms
  • A gifted mathematician’s apparently flawed theories attract the attention of beings to whom her numbers make perfect sense.

The Private Life of Elder Things will be available via Amazon and other online bookshops in print and eBook formats.

If you would like to receive a review PDF please get in touch — let me know which magazine or website you review for. Thanks.