New Anthology Announced

2018 sees the re-launch of the Alchemy Press Book Of… anthologies with a brand new title: HORRORS, edited by Peter Coleborn and Jan Edwards. We are looking for horror stories … but tales that can be described as “weird”, “strange”, “amazing” and “peculiar”: stories that would have found a home in Weird Tales, Unknown Worlds, Fantastic and Fantasy Tales among other illustrious publications.

For the full guidelines visit the Alchemy Press of Horrors submissions page.

Advertisements

Hekla’s Children

Alchemy Press contributor James Brogden’s new novel Hekla’s Children has hit the bookshelves. It is a truly remarkable novel — you can read my review of it on the Piper at the Gates of Fantasy blog.

To celebrate the publication of the novel we are offering twelve copies of James’ short story collection Evocations (published by The Alchemy Press) free to the first six people who email by midnight today (Friday) and to another six who email us by midnight tomorrow (Saturday)  — UK time — and please use this contact form with the subject EVOCATIONS. Remember to specify if you want  MOBI or EPUB format.

 

 

 

Pulp Heroes soon to go OOP

Pulp Heroes 144KB

The Alchemy Press Book of Pulp Heroes, edited by Mike Chinn, is soon to be out of print. If you haven’t bagged yourself a copy now is the time to do so. You never know, used copies may be worth £££ or $$$ in future days.

Stories in the tradition of The Shadow, The Bat, Doc Savage, The Spider; Dashiell Hammett’s Continental Detective Agency; Dusty Ayers & His Battle Birds; Sheena and K-Zar. Hard-boiled detectives, sinister vigilantes, bizarre villains: the staples of the Pulp tradition. Two-fisted heroes – and heroines – fighting for right and justice in the midnight city, foetid jungles or exotic, far-flung lands. Deranged villains for whom the world is never enough.

Pulp Heroes is available from Amazon and other online bookshops.

 

Something Remains reviewed

As mentioned previously, Des Lewis is writing real-time reviews of Something Remains, He began these reviews here and now continues them here. You need to scroll to the comments section of both blog to read Des’ comments on each story.

 

Going for a song…

Some of The Alchemy Press’s limited edition hardcovers are going for a song via Amazon. Okay, not a song, as such … but we are selling brand new copies at a heavy discount. Now is a good time to buy the book you’ve been intending to read!

Rumours 250KB  WTBAB 003

SATM 007  NNI Full Jacket6

Don’t forget, these are all limited, signed hardcovers. And a warning: some of these books are in short supply so order them soon.

 

 

 

Arthur C. Clarke Award

ChildrenofTime   front cover 003b

The 30th Arthur C. Clarke Award for science fiction literature was awarded to Children of Time by Adrian Tchaikovsky (published by Tor), recently announced. The Clarke Award is considered to be the UK’s top prize for science fiction. Many congratulations go to Adrian.

And if you didn’t know, or you’ve forgotten, Adrian’s co-written anthology (with Adam Gauntlett and Keris McDonald), The Private Life of Elder Things is now available from The Alchemy Press.

 

Rumours — price reduction

Rumours 250KB

We’re lowering the price of Rumours of the Marvellous, the marvellous collection from Peter Atkins. Short-listed for the British Fantasy Award in 2012.

Rumours of the Marvellous is a superb collection of short stories by Peter Atkins that fall in the borderland between SF, fantasy, horror and the supernatural.” — David V Barrett, Fortean Times, November 2012 issue.

Rumours is a beautifully produced book … and will no doubt reach out to the collector demographic, but for those of us who worship content … its core appeal lies in the author’s undoubted ability to tell a story and to tell it well.” – Peter Tennant, Black Static 30

You can buy it now via Amazon for just £10 plus p&p.

We haven’t had a chance to change the PayPal tags yet so if you wish to buy directly from us send a message and we’ll in turn send a PayPal invoice.