Pulp Heroes soon to go OOP

Pulp Heroes 144KB

The Alchemy Press Book of Pulp Heroes, edited by Mike Chinn, is soon to be out of print. If you haven’t bagged yourself a copy now is the time to do so. You never know, used copies may be worth £££ or $$$ in future days.

Stories in the tradition of The Shadow, The Bat, Doc Savage, The Spider; Dashiell Hammett’s Continental Detective Agency; Dusty Ayers & His Battle Birds; Sheena and K-Zar. Hard-boiled detectives, sinister vigilantes, bizarre villains: the staples of the Pulp tradition. Two-fisted heroes – and heroines – fighting for right and justice in the midnight city, foetid jungles or exotic, far-flung lands. Deranged villains for whom the world is never enough.

Pulp Heroes is available from Amazon and other online bookshops.

 

Nick Nightmare price reduction

NNI Full Jacket6

Nick Nightmare Investigates by Adrian Cole was published at £25. We are now selling it for £15 plus £3 p&p in the UK. We will add a correct PayPal button shortly, but in the interim please contact us using the contact form or via email: alchemypress [at] gmail [dot] com. Or pay via PayPal using this same e-address, stating the title you require.

And if you have two minutes, check out the promo video on YouTube.

 

 

Alchemy anthologies

Alchemy Press anthologies are available in print and eBook (Kindle) formats. Click on the titles for the relevant links — and fill your eReader with excitement, wonder, myth, horror and pulp heroics.

Ancient Wonders 170KB UM cover A 008 b Urban Mythic 2

Pulp Heroes 144KB pulpheroes 2 a Publication PH3a

Continue reading

Pulp Heroes 1 update

Pulp Heroes 144KB

The first volume of The Alchemy Press Book of Pulp Heroes, edited by Mike Chinn, will become an eBook only from the end of March this year. If you want a print copy now is the time to get your hands on a copy!

Stories in the tradition of The Shadow, The Bat, Doc Savage, The Spider; Dashiell Hammett’s Continental Detective Agency; Dusty Ayers & His Battle Birds; Sheena and K-Zar. Hard-boiled detectives, sinister vigilantes, bizarre villains: the staples of the Pulp tradition. Two-fisted heroes – and heroines – fighting for right and justice in the midnight city, foetid jungles or exotic, far-flung lands. Deranged villains for whom the world is never enough.

The Alchemy Press Book of Pulp Heroes is a spectacularly brilliant read, Mike Chinn, has brought together some great writers in this anthology. He has also shown that the Pulp genre can be as diverse, satisfying and just as well written as any other genre out there. Don’t be ashamed folks, go out and get yourself a copy of this book, and prepare to be entertained to the max.” — Jim McLeod / Ginger Nuts of Horror

Pulp Heroes is available from Amazon US, Amazon UK and elsewhere.

 

Kami Ga Kikoemasu

Each wave reared higher than the Oji-Maru’s rails. Hooked fingers of white spume reaching for the whale-chaser before they collapsed back into the grey sea. Ishimaeru’s guts clenched every time, leaving him shaking and hollow with fear. The next time that clawing foam might hide the gleam of bone, or the time after that, or the time after—

“Oy!”

The yell shook Ishimaeru from his thoughts. He pushed himself back from the scarred bow and turned to face Hoshi Kōatsu: the Oji-Maru’s acting captain. The man’s square face was pale and sweating. “You’re not paid to moon around up here—!”

Discover more here.

December Newsletter

Edge lit 4 c001s

It has been a busy autumn at Alton Towers. I mean Alchemy Towers (the other Towers is about three miles further into the Peak District). At FantasyCon, held in a posh hotel at Nottingham University, we learned that Nick Nightmare Investigates by Adrian Cole (co-published with Airgedlámh Publications) won the coveted Best Collection Award presented by the British Fantasy Society. Copies are still available.

Congratulations to all concerned, to Adrian, his editor Mike Chinn (who also co-wrote one of the stories – where Nick Nightmare and Damian Paladin join forces to combat the forces of evil!), artists Jim Pits and Bob Eggleton, and Michael Marshall Smith, Stephen Jones and David Sutton.

The Alchemy Press was also short listed in the Best Anthology, Best Non-Fiction and Best Independent Press categories. So not a bad indicator of what we’re up to.

Continue reading

Nick Nightmare reviewed

NNI Full Jacket6

Here’s a new review of Adrian Cole’s Nick Nightmare Investigates:

The writing is SUPERB! After you have got hold of the book, and have read it, you would feel like banging the door of the author demanding answer to a simple query: “When is the next collection of NN stories going to be released”?

Riju Ganguly

You can read the full review on the Goodreads website.

Nick Nightmare Investigates is the winner of the Best Collection Award presented by the British Fantasy Society ate this year’s FantasyCon. NNI is available as a signed. limited edition from The Alchemy Press.