Horrors – pre-order now

perf5.500x8.500.indd

The Alchemy Press Book of Horrors is now available to pre-order. The book will be launched at this year’s FantasyCon and then will be on general sale on 1st November. Available from Amazon and other online booksellers.

Twenty-five tales of horror and the weird, stories that encapsulate the dark, the desolate and the downright creepy. Stories that will send that quiver of anticipation and dread down your spine and stay with you long after the lights have gone out.

Who is Len Binn, a comedian or…? What secrets are locked away in Le Trénébreuse? The deadline for what? Who are the little people, the garbage men, the peelers? What lies behind the masks? And what horrors are found down along the backroads?

Check out the book’s page to see who are the 25 writers.

 

Advertisements

What’s in Horrors?

There was an avalanche of stories submitted to The Alchemy Press Book of Horrors – especially in the final month of the submission’s window. To be honest, we didn’t expect to receive around 310 manuscripts seeking a home in this anthology. We were worried that we’d have too few submissions.

We read the stories as soon as possible after receiving them (but as indicated, January was a particularly busy month), maintaining a database of comments in order to narrow down to a shortlist.

Yet we managed it quickly – and then the shortlist itself needed to be pruned, and even so we couldn’t cut back to the original idea: an anthology containing a dozen stories. So we succumbed and settled on 25 stories. Without further ado, in alphabetical order (alphabetically by first name that is!), here’s what you’ll be reading in the latter part of 2018.

  • Adrian Cole: Broken Billy
  • Cate Gardner: The Fullness of Her Belly
  • Debbie Bennett: The Fairest of them all
  • Gail-Nina Anderson: An Eye for a Plastic Eye
  • Gary McMahon: Guising
  • James Brogden: The Trade-Up
  • Jenny Barber: Down Along the Backroads
  • John Grant: Too Late
  • Keris McDonald: Remember, Remember
  • Madhvi Ramani: Teufelsberg
  • Marie O’Regan: Pretty Things
  • Marion Pitman: The Apple Tree
  • Mike Chinn: Her Favourite Place
  • Peter Sutton: Masks
  • Phil Sloman: The Girl with Three Eyes
  • Ralph Robert Moore: Peelers
  • Ramsey Campbell: Some Kind of a Laugh
  • Ray Cluley: Bluey
  • Samantha Lee: The Worm
  • Stan Nicholls: Deadline
  • Stephen Laws: Get Worse Soon
  • Storm Constantine: La Tenebreuse
  • Suzanne Barbieri: In the Rough
  • Tina Rath: Little People
  • Tony Richards: The Garbage Men

In addition, the book will be garnished with a range of Jim Pitt illustrations. We aim to make this book one you’ll treasure.

 

Pulp Heroes soon to go OOP

Pulp Heroes 144KB

The Alchemy Press Book of Pulp Heroes, edited by Mike Chinn, is soon to be out of print. If you haven’t bagged yourself a copy now is the time to do so. You never know, used copies may be worth £££ or $$$ in future days.

Stories in the tradition of The Shadow, The Bat, Doc Savage, The Spider; Dashiell Hammett’s Continental Detective Agency; Dusty Ayers & His Battle Birds; Sheena and K-Zar. Hard-boiled detectives, sinister vigilantes, bizarre villains: the staples of the Pulp tradition. Two-fisted heroes – and heroines – fighting for right and justice in the midnight city, foetid jungles or exotic, far-flung lands. Deranged villains for whom the world is never enough.

Pulp Heroes is available from Amazon and other online bookshops.

 

Nick Nightmare price reduction

NNI Full Jacket6

Nick Nightmare Investigates by Adrian Cole was published at £25. We are now selling it for £15 plus £3 p&p in the UK. We will add a correct PayPal button shortly, but in the interim please contact us using the contact form or via email: alchemypress [at] gmail [dot] com. Or pay via PayPal using this same e-address, stating the title you require.

And if you have two minutes, check out the promo video on YouTube.

 

 

Going for a song…

Some of The Alchemy Press’s limited edition hardcovers are going for a song via Amazon. Okay, not a song, as such … but we are selling brand new copies at a heavy discount. Now is a good time to buy the book you’ve been intending to read!

Rumours 250KB  WTBAB 003

SATM 007  NNI Full Jacket6

Don’t forget, these are all limited, signed hardcovers. And a warning: some of these books are in short supply so order them soon.

 

 

 

Alchemy collections

Here is a round up of Alchemy Press collections. As you can tell from the range of anthologies and collections we’ve published, we are a great fan of short fiction. Click on the image for further information on each title.

IMG_0205 a006 b small   ????????????????????

  • Tell No Lies by John Grant
  • Merry-Go-Round and Other Words by Bryn Forty

evocations cover 001b   monsters cover 002

  • Evocations by James Brogden
  • Monsters by Paul Kane

Continue reading

Alchemy anthologies

Alchemy Press anthologies are available in print and eBook (Kindle) formats. Click on the titles for the relevant links — and fill your eReader with excitement, wonder, myth, horror and pulp heroics.

Ancient Wonders 170KB UM cover A 008 b Urban Mythic 2

Pulp Heroes 144KB pulpheroes 2 a Publication PH3a

Continue reading