Happy Hallowe’en

 

Advertisements

Hekla’s Children

Alchemy Press contributor James Brogden’s new novel Hekla’s Children has hit the bookshelves. It is a truly remarkable novel — you can read my review of it on the Piper at the Gates of Fantasy blog.

To celebrate the publication of the novel we are offering twelve copies of James’ short story collection Evocations (published by The Alchemy Press) free to the first six people who email by midnight today (Friday) and to another six who email us by midnight tomorrow (Saturday)  — UK time — and please use this contact form with the subject EVOCATIONS. Remember to specify if you want  MOBI or EPUB format.

 

 

 

Astrologica soon to go OOP

Astrologica 150KB

What’s your star sign? Is our fate pre-determined by the constellations and the position of the planets? Can astrology really present an alternative vision to the apparent certainties of science, politics, religion and celebrity culture? Or should its claims of determinism, fate, fortune and personality profiling perhaps be taken with a large pinch of salt?

Astrologica: Stories of the Zodiac edited by Allen Ashley is on its way to becoming out of print. If you want to lay your hands on Astrologica, copies are still available from Amazon and other online bookstores.

 

Pulp Heroes soon to go OOP

Pulp Heroes 144KB

The Alchemy Press Book of Pulp Heroes, edited by Mike Chinn, is soon to be out of print. If you haven’t bagged yourself a copy now is the time to do so. You never know, used copies may be worth £££ or $$$ in future days.

Stories in the tradition of The Shadow, The Bat, Doc Savage, The Spider; Dashiell Hammett’s Continental Detective Agency; Dusty Ayers & His Battle Birds; Sheena and K-Zar. Hard-boiled detectives, sinister vigilantes, bizarre villains: the staples of the Pulp tradition. Two-fisted heroes – and heroines – fighting for right and justice in the midnight city, foetid jungles or exotic, far-flung lands. Deranged villains for whom the world is never enough.

Pulp Heroes is available from Amazon and other online bookshops.

 

Ancient Wonders soon to go OOP

Ancient Wonders 170KB

The Alchemy Press Book of Ancient Wonders, edited by Jan Edwards and Jenny Barber, is soon to be out of print. If you haven’t bagged yourself a copy now is the time to do so. In a year used copies may be worth £££ or $$$.

“When we think of a wonder, our minds go most often to the great buildings of the past – the pyramids, the Taj Mahal, Stonehenge – but the human mind can make almost anything wondrous. We walk with wonders every day, through the power of curiosity and imagination and our human tendency to make stories about what we fear, what we desire, what we wish to understand. This collection offers new glimpses into the wonder we all feel.” – Kari Sperring

Discover standing stones, burial mounds, ruined castles or sunken cities: the ancient sites that litter our landscapes; the ancient wonders that possess a mysterious appeal that cannot be denied.

Check out the great contents via this link. The book is available via Amazon and other online dealers.

Going for a song…

Some of The Alchemy Press’s limited edition hardcovers are going for a song via Amazon. Okay, not a song, as such … but we are selling brand new copies at a heavy discount. Now is a good time to buy the book you’ve been intending to read!

Rumours 250KB  WTBAB 003

SATM 007  NNI Full Jacket6

Don’t forget, these are all limited, signed hardcovers. And a warning: some of these books are in short supply so order them soon.

 

 

 

Alchemy: other books

Besides anthologies and collections The Alchemy Press has been honoured to publish the following titles. Click on the images for further information on each title.

Publication9b   Doors Elsewhere 012c

  • Touchstones: Essays on the Fantastic by John Howard
  • Doors to Elsewhere by Mike Barrett

Continue reading