Talking to Strangers

Talking to Strangers and Other Warnings

The new collection from Tina Rath due on 16th April.

Tina Rath’s twenty-plus tales exhibit an innate sense of structure that allows for a satisfying conclusion – and often a sting in the tail. These are unashamedly entertaining stories, dark fantasy with a touch of humour, that display a deftness of touch inviting us to enjoy the words on the page. They don’t outstay their welcome or labour their points because they don’t need to – Tina Rath knows how a story works. And they work well. Very well indeed.

With an introduction by Gail-Nina Anderson

Available for pre-order from Amazon.co.uk and other stores.

Sale of the Season

The ideal gift!

In the run up to Christmas, we are selling some of our books at super knockdown prices. Many of these titles are in low supply so this offer applies while in-house stocks last. The following paperbacks are on offer at £5.00 each plus p&p (£2.00 per book or £3.00 for two or more books up to 2 Kg in weight. UK orders; for overseas queries please email (see end of this post).

First up are anthologies, a fantastic place to discover new stories by a variety of authors.

 

Next, single-author collections. Here you can learn more about the writer you perhaps came across recently.

Two non-fiction books and a couple of novels next:.

Most of the above paperbacks will still be available to buy from Amazon and other online booksellers at the normal prices. Many Alchemy Press titles are also available for the Kindle eBook reader.

And now a few hardcover/limited edition books. These are £10.00 each plus £2.00 p&p in the UK. Overseas, please email.

 

 

Finally, also available directly from us while in-house stocks last. Prices are as listed plus £2.00 p&p in the UK

: 

Contact us, the Alchemy Press, using this form (or alchemypress@gmail.com) and we’ll confirm availability and price. Payment only via PayPal.Remember, in-house supplies are limited.

 

 

Fables and Fabrications

Regular Alchemy Press editor Jan Edwards’ collection, Fables and Fabrications, has received a rather splendid review by Andrew Darlington. He describes the book thus:

You’ll be drawn to this book – in her words, like a hungry she-bear scenting tethered sheep. Announced as ‘fourteen tales of mystery, mirth and the macabre’ this is not the grind-core slasher-horror of gut-wrenching torture-porn, more the luring strangeness of some lost golden age.

Pop over to the Our Fantasy Realm website to read more.

 

Hekla’s Children

Alchemy Press contributor James Brogden’s new novel Hekla’s Children has hit the bookshelves. It is a truly remarkable novel — you can read my review of it on the Piper at the Gates of Fantasy blog.

To celebrate the publication of the novel we are offering twelve copies of James’ short story collection Evocations (published by The Alchemy Press) free to the first six people who email by midnight today (Friday) and to another six who email us by midnight tomorrow (Saturday)  — UK time — and please use this contact form with the subject EVOCATIONS. Remember to specify if you want  MOBI or EPUB format.

 

 

 

Astrologica soon to go OOP

Astrologica 150KB

What’s your star sign? Is our fate pre-determined by the constellations and the position of the planets? Can astrology really present an alternative vision to the apparent certainties of science, politics, religion and celebrity culture? Or should its claims of determinism, fate, fortune and personality profiling perhaps be taken with a large pinch of salt?

Astrologica: Stories of the Zodiac edited by Allen Ashley is on its way to becoming out of print. If you want to lay your hands on Astrologica, copies are still available from Amazon and other online bookstores.

 

Pulp Heroes soon to go OOP

Pulp Heroes 144KB

The Alchemy Press Book of Pulp Heroes, edited by Mike Chinn, is soon to be out of print. If you haven’t bagged yourself a copy now is the time to do so. You never know, used copies may be worth £££ or $$$ in future days.

Stories in the tradition of The Shadow, The Bat, Doc Savage, The Spider; Dashiell Hammett’s Continental Detective Agency; Dusty Ayers & His Battle Birds; Sheena and K-Zar. Hard-boiled detectives, sinister vigilantes, bizarre villains: the staples of the Pulp tradition. Two-fisted heroes – and heroines – fighting for right and justice in the midnight city, foetid jungles or exotic, far-flung lands. Deranged villains for whom the world is never enough.

Pulp Heroes is available from Amazon and other online bookshops.

 

Ancient Wonders soon to go OOP

Ancient Wonders 170KB

The Alchemy Press Book of Ancient Wonders, edited by Jan Edwards and Jenny Barber, is soon to be out of print. If you haven’t bagged yourself a copy now is the time to do so. In a year used copies may be worth £££ or $$$.

“When we think of a wonder, our minds go most often to the great buildings of the past – the pyramids, the Taj Mahal, Stonehenge – but the human mind can make almost anything wondrous. We walk with wonders every day, through the power of curiosity and imagination and our human tendency to make stories about what we fear, what we desire, what we wish to understand. This collection offers new glimpses into the wonder we all feel.” – Kari Sperring

Discover standing stones, burial mounds, ruined castles or sunken cities: the ancient sites that litter our landscapes; the ancient wonders that possess a mysterious appeal that cannot be denied.

Check out the great contents via this link. The book is available via Amazon and other online dealers.