Alchemy Newsletter: May

FB banner 004

The Alchemy Press Newsletter: May 2014

April was a really busy month here at Alchemy Towers. Our main event was the publication of Merry-Go-Round and Other Words by Bryn Fortey. Merry-Go-Roundwas launchedat the Birmingham Independent Book Fair, held at the Ikon Gallery in Birmingham on 12 April, where we met up with fellow publishers and editors from Shadow Publishing, Pigeon Park Press and Boo Books amongst many others. It was a good day with an excellent reception of a fantastic book. Books, in fact; The Alchemy Press’s table featured an impressive display of our titles.

In addition to local stalwarts (local to the West Midlands, that is – Mike Chinn, David and Sandra Sutton, Chris and Pauline Morgan, James Brogden, et al), we also had visits from Stephen Jones, Mandy Slater, Johnny Mains, and Rod and Nelli Rees. In the evening a number of us repaired to the Malthouse for drinks and a meal – the very pub where Bill Clinton, the then US President, ate a plate of chips (he was in Birmingham for a G6 or 7 or 8 or whatever-number-it-was conference).

The following weekend we (that’s Jan Edwards and me) returned to Birmingham, this time for lunch with Adrian Cole, Jim Pitts (see news below), Jon Harvey, Mike Chinn and John Howard. It was a bit like a gathering at an early FantasyCon – but all older and wiser.

To our great delight, Merry-Go-Round has already gained a cracking review in The Zone; and on the Ginger Nuts of Horror website Bryn Fortey is interviewed and selects “the book that made him”. The South Wales Argus featured a long article on Bryn Fortey, touching on the tragic events in the writer’s life – a very moving story. The article appeared both online and in the print edition of the newspaper.

Merry-Go-Round and Other Words is available for purchase from Amazon in print and eBook editions; it’s also available from other on-line dealers – just Google the title. Besides the Kindle version, you can obtain an ePub file for your Kobo, etc, directly from The Alchemy Press. And there is more exciting news to come concerning this fabulous book, but hush, hush, it’s a secret until next month (well, we have to keep something back for the next newsletter).

Whilst on the subject of eBooks, The Alchemy Press Book of Pulp Heroes 2, edited by Mike Chinn also has a Kindle edition now available via Amazon. Contact The Alchemy Press for an ePub version of Pulp Heroes 2.

We’ve had a few decent recent reviews, for which we are very pleased. If you come across any please let us know. And if you are a book reviewer interested in covering our titles do drop us a line.

The Alchemy Press Book of Urban Mythic 1 was covered by the Fantastic Librarian and The Alchemy Press Book of Pulp Heroes 2 was reviewed in the Morpheus Tales Supplement. Meanwhile, Invent-10n by Rod Rees was reviewed on Ebookwyrm, Good Reads and The Financial Times Fiction websites. This last review came from James Lovegrove. Invent-10n is available from online book stores (such as Amazon) or directly from The Alchemy Press for the signed, limited edition.

We’ve lowered the prices of the eBook editions of our novellas,The Komarovs by Chico Kidd, In the Broken Birdcage of Kathleen Fair by Cate Gardner and Sailor of the Skies by Mike Chinn – to just 77p each.

The submission windows for The Alchemy Press Book of Urban Mythic 2 and The Alchemy Press Book of Pulp Heroes 3 are now closed. The editors are busy reading through the many, many manuscripts they’ve received – when they’ve made their decision details will be posted on The Alchemy Press website. Editor Dean M Drinkel is currently finalising the contents for our other 2014 anthology, Kneeling in the Silver Light. These three books will be launched at FantasyCon in York this autumn.

What else have we lined up for you? A collection of Nick Nightmare stories: Nick Nightmare Investigates by Adrian Cole is also scheduled for a FantasyCon release. The book will be available in two editions. The limited, signed edition will feature a couple of additional stories including a team-up tale in the tradition of Marvel and DC comics mashes – you know, Spider-Man and Superman first fight each other and then join forces to fight the big bad. In this case writers Adrian Cole and Mike Chinn bring together their pulp heroes Nick Nightmare and Damian Paladin. We at Alchemy Towers have no idea what kind of shenanigans these heroes get up to, but we can’t wait to find out. Jim Pitts has returned to the drawing board to produce a super painting so evocative of the pulp era. He’s also preparing a frontispiece for the hardcover…

John Howard’s Touchstones: Essays on the Fantastic is in the editing phase and should see publication within a few months. Watch this space, as they say.

Leinster Gardens and Other Subtleties brings together the supernatural stories of Jan Edwards, and this should appear towards the end of the year. And we’ve also spoken to a couple of writers about collections of their stories, to appear in 2015 – details to follow.

We thought that the Joel Lane-edited Beneath the Ground is out of print. However, we came across four copies in preparing for the Birmingham Book Fair. And three of them are signed! We’ll probably put them up on eBay shortly. Also in short supply is Shadows of Light and Dark by Jo Fletcher. This is a collection of Jo’s poems, signed by Jo along with Neil Gaiman, Les Edwards, Seamus Ryan and Michael Marshall Smith.

What else? The Alchemy Press has booked tables for Edge-Lit 3 in Derby (19 July) and FantasyCon 2014 in York (5-7 September); and we’re thinking about Novacon for this year – autumn is going to be a busy time for us (it includes a trip to Cyprus). And Peter Coleborn and Jan Edwards both have airings on Cre8 Radio on 10 June.

You can find us on Facebook and Twitter (@alchemy_press)

Bye for now and have a marvellous May!

 

 

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Alchemy Newsletter: May

  1. Pingback: May I present my May | Jan Edwards

  2. Pingback: Writer’s support | jandomagala

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s