Mark David Campbell interviewed

Mark David Campbell 02Mark David Campbell’s “The Fishman” (for the sign of Pisces) appears in Astrologica: Stories of the Zodiac.

Give us a little bit of background on your writing career.

My background is in anthropology, so I spent years writing academic papers for presentation at congresses and publication in various academic journals. I found academic writing too restrictive and after graduate school I began to explore creative writing and fiction.

For the past two years I have been writing a monthly column for The American titled, “That’s Queer” which focuses on the everyday absurdities, difficulties and humour of trying to live as an openly gay man in Italy.

I have just completed two manuscripts, that are as of yet unpublished, which draw on my anthropological background and our struggle to understand homosexuality.

What appealed to you about the “Astrologica” project?

I liked the approach to astrology as an epistemological guide for a narrative discourse rather than as a mechanistic approach to fate.

Why did you choose this particular star sign for your story?

My passion is swimming and I have always felt more comfortable in the water with fish than on dry land with people. I made no conscious choice for the sign Pisces; I let the Pisces choose me.

Which star sign are you and what qualities of that sign do you display?

I am Sagittarius but I don’t limit myself to predefined traits. Perhaps that is a quality of Sagittarius; his divided identity – half horse, half man – always standing between one thing and another.

What is the most accurate / least accurate horoscope you have ever read?

I find the morning TV horoscopes much too formulaic to be interesting. With respect to the life narrative I am scripting for myself, I prefer an approach to the horoscope which allows me to enter into a heretofore unconsidered discursive space. While in Malaysia, a Chinese village sage read my “horoscope” and gave me a non-fatalistic vision of my future possibilities.

Where do you go from here?

Easy question. Right now the characters in my manuscripts are “real” only to me. I want to get my manuscripts out there and give them life within the imagination of others.

One thought on “Mark David Campbell interviewed

  1. Greetings Mark! Do you remember me (Cahal Pech 1991 onwards)?? Just hanging out in Toronto with Jaime and we were talking about you….after enjoying a great weekend in Peterborough celebrating 50 years of Trent (with an arch symposium that Jaime, Terry, Heather and others spoke at). So great to find you online and to see what you’ve been up to. If you can, drop me a line and I’ll also pass you Jaime’s email…he is now teaching in Arizona and looking forward to hearing from you. All the best! (and hopefully this message can be forwarded to you?!)

Leave a Reply

