Doug Blakeslee interviewed

Doug Blakeslee

Here’s a Q&A with Doug Blakeslee, author of “Broken Horn” (for the sign of Capricorn) in Astrologica: Stories of the Zodiac edited by Allen Ashley.

Give us a little bit of background on your writing career.

I’m a newcomer to the business, having submitted to my first call, a novella, back in August of 2011. It was also my first rejection. My first sale was a short story in May 2012 and “Broken Horn” is the third one to be published. I’ve dabbled in writing since high school but it wasn’t until a friend of mine really pushed me to get serious and it’s been a fun ride so far.

What appealed to you about the Astrologica project?

The myths behind star signs and astrology. It gave me a chance to play with the symbols and approach it in a unique way. The lure of writing an urban fantasy/semi-horror story also helped.

Why did you choose this particular star sign for your story?

I asked the editor which signs needed more stories and it came down to Capricorn or Sagittarius. Did a bit of research on each sign, read a few horoscopes, bounced a couple of the ideas around, and settled on the idea of the Cornucopia and ambition.

Which star sign are you and what qualities of that sign do you display?

I’m a Pisces. Easy going, flexible, and I love to swim. I don’t get to indulge in the last one enough.

What is the most accurate / least accurate horoscope you have ever read?

I’ve not read a horoscope in years and when I did read them, they weren’t accurate except in the most vague of terms.

Where do you go from here?

Writing more short stories and working to hone my craft. My current big project is editing an urban fantasy novella. This is the fourth revamp of the story that I first sent out in 2011. It’s undergone some radical changes in the past two years. Marcus, the main character in “Broken Horn”, shows up briefly in the novella and I hope to use him in future stories as well. I expect this to be done in the next couple of weeks and ready for submission. Then it’s on to the half a dozen short story calls that have caught my interest.

Leave a Reply

