Neil Williamson interviewed

Neil Williamson j-peg2

It’s Q&A time with Neil Williamson, author of “Deep Draw” (for the sign of Aquarius) in the forthcoming Alchemy Press anthology Astrologica: Stories of the Zodiac, edited by Allen Ashley.

Give us a little bit of background on your writing career.

I’ve published over forty short stories in a whole range of anthologies, magazines and corners of the internet. Some of these were republished in my collection The Ephemera and, with Andrew J Wilson, I also edited an anthology called Nova Scotia: New Scottish Speculative Fiction. These efforts have variously gained nominations for British Science Fiction Association, British Fantasy and World Fantasy awards.

I’ve also written a novel called, The Moon King, a weird, slightly modern, slightly retro fantasy set in a city where the moon never sets, and whose king is immortal. It’ll be published by NewCon Press in March 2014.

What appealed to you about the Astrologica project?

The initial attraction was that Allen Ashley was involved. I love Allen’s anthologies and knew he would select an interesting array of stories that would stretch reader expectations of the theme.

Why did you choose this particular star sign – Aquarius – for your story?

I wanted to use some aspect of the mythology behind the sign I used, and when I discovered that the water bearer referred to in the mythology of Aquarius was Ganymede (it was news to me, at least), I thought there was a lot of potential to work that figure, and the bearing of drinks in general, into the story.

Which star sign are you and what qualities of that sign do you display?

I’m Cancer, but between you and me, whisper it, I don’t really have much truck with astrology. So, am I sensitive, introspective, generous (to pick a few traits from an astrology site I just looked up)? I’d like to think so, but so are a lot of people who weren’t born in July… (Sorry.)

What is the most accurate/ least accurate horoscope you have ever read?

Like, I say, I’m not a believer, so I doubt I’ve read one since the 1980s. The most accurate horoscope I can imagine, though, is: You are going to die. Which is fair enough really.

Where do you go from here?

Write more stories and novels before the above prediction comes true!

[Neil Williamson will be familiar to many in the broad science fiction/ fantasy/ horror field. His fiction has been published in a variety of magazines and anthologies, including Allen Ashley’s The Elastic Book Of Numbers. Neil’s short story collection, The Ephemera, is still available from Infinity Plus Books. Neil is a veteran of the literary fight club known as the Glasgow Science Fiction Writers Circle. For more information visit his website.]

2 thoughts on “Neil Williamson interviewed

  1. Pingback: The truth about me and astrology | ayeahmur

  2. Pingback: Also from The Alchemy Press – William Meikle and Neil Williamson | Jan Edwards

Leave a Reply

